General Information

About Cyprus

Geographical Location and Population
Cyprus, the third largest island in the Mediterranean after Sicily and Sardinia, is located in the Eastern Mediterranean at the crossroads of the trade routes of three continents. The strategic location of Cyprus has played a significant role in shaping its history, making the island a center for trade and international commerce. The island is filled with fascinating historical remnants and is surrounded by the crystal-clear waters of the Mediterranean.

The total area of the island is 9,251 square kilometers, with the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) covering 3,242 square kilometers. According to the 2011 census, the de jure population (residents) of the TRNC was 286,257 people. The State Planning Organization projected the population to be 372,486 in 2018.

The capital, Nicosia, is the largest city in the TRNC. Other significant coastal cities include Famagusta, Iskele, and Kyrenia. Güzelyurt and Lefke are renowned for their extensive citrus groves.

The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus has a typical Mediterranean climate, characterized by hot and dry summers and mild winters. The coldest period is in January, with most of the rainfall occurring between November and March. During the summer months, temperatures can exceed 40 degrees Celsius in the shade.

The native language of Turkish Cypriots is Turkish. English is also widely spoken.

Time Zone
GMT +2

The international dialing code is +90.

Currency and Banking System
The official currency of the TRNC is Turkish Lira (TL). Individuals and entities are free to hold foreign currency, save in foreign currency, use it as a medium of exchange, and express amounts in contracts and payment orders in foreign currency.

The official exchange rates for transactions are determined daily by the Central Bank and announced on its website and in the Official Gazette. Banks, currency exchange offices, and Central Bank are free to set their own buying and selling rates for foreign currency for their transactions.

TRNC has a developed banking system. In addition to the Central Bank and the Development Bank, there are both commercial banks and International Banking Unit (IBU) providing services.